Art & Art Show
Tony - Art

LoneStarCon's art-related activities include original artwork and prints on display and for sale in the Art Show, many of which will go to the art auction on Sunday, a varied Art Program throughout the convention, and Art Night, a visual arts festival throughout the evening of Friday, August 30. Art Night will culminate with the presentation of the prestigious Chesley Awards, recognizing individual artistic works and achievements in science fiction and fantasy.

Art Show Hours

The Art Show will be located in Exhibit A in the convention center, along with the Dealers' Room and other exhibits. The Art Show will be open to the public at the following times.

  • Thursday, August 29: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.
  • Friday, August 30: 10 a.m. - 10 p.m. (late opening for Art Night - see below)
  • Saturday, August 31: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sunday, September 1:
    • 10 a.m. - Noon - Public opening
    • 2.30 p.m. - Art Auction
    • 3:00 p.m. - 6 p.m. - Buyer Pickup, After Auction Sales
  • Monday, September 2: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Buyer Pickup, After Auction Sales

Confirmed Artists

The following artists are confirmed for the LoneStarCon 3 Art Show (as of August 6, 2013). We are pleased to present our online artist showcase to introduce you to the artists and their work - follow the links below for biographies, photos, and sample artworks (where available - in some cases we have linked directly to the artist's website pending on the creation of their showcase entry).

Andrew Adams
Durlyn Alexander
Kimm Antell
Bonnie Atwood
Alan F. Beck
Jeffrey Bedrick
Mitchell Bentley
Elizabeth Berrien
Tom Bishop
R. Merrill Bollerud
Janet Bruesselbach
Nancy Cagle
Suzanne Caruana
Peri Charlifu
Sarah Clemens
Christina Collins
Daniel Cortopassi
Charlene Taylor D'Alessio
Mary Ann Daliessio
Loren Damewood
Galen Dara
Cynthia Dickinson
Julie Dillon
John Douglass
Bruce Eagle
Nancy Edwards
Michele Ellington
Cindy Emmons
S. C. Essai
April Faires
Marjorie Farrell
Sara Felix
Phil Foglio
Kelly Freas
Sabine Furlong
Raya Golden
Bev Hale
Lisa Hertel
Richard Hescox
W. J. Hodgson
Jennifer Husmo
Ellen Jewett
Angela Jones-Parker
Rocky Kelley
Tom Kidd
Vicki King
Johnna Y. Klukas
Michael Kucharski
Romas Kukalis
Lady Angilique
Deborah Larson
Alan Leach
Kathryn Leventhal-Arnold
Judy Mastrangelo
Theresa Mather
Mike Maung
Rachael Mayo
Patricia McCracken
Stephen Montalvo
Chris Moore
Melia Newman
Brinda Nichols
Northen Star Art
David Lee Pancake
Carole Parker
Jeff Patterson
Hillary Pearlman
Judith Peterson
Philip Peterson
John Picacio
Valerie Purcell
Tim Riley
Mark Roland
Ralph J. Ryan
Spring Schoenhuth
Stu Shepherd
John Sies
Tyler Smith
A. Laraine Steele
Jeff Sturgeon
Tammy Tripp
Sara Twitty
Vincent Villafranca
Young Wang
Sherry Watson
Tomi Welch
Corene Werhane
Terry Whisenant
Ulysses Grant Whitehouse
Worlds of Wonder

Art Night

Art Night at LoneStarCon 3 will be held on the evening of Friday, August 30, 2013, in and around the Exhibit Hall of the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The event will start at 6:00 p.m. and run until 10:00 p.m.

  • From 6:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. we will have artists doing demonstrations, giving talks and slide shows at the Artist Alley tables just outside the Art Show near the hall entrance. We will also have some docent tours of the artwork on display and for sale in the Art Show itself.

  • From 8:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. we will have an Artists Reception with food and beverages, open to all members, in the Art Show. This will give fans a chance to admire the artwork and talk with the artists themselves who are attending. ASFA and LoneStarCon 3 are co-sponsoring again this year.

  • From 9:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. the Chesley Awards Ceremony will be held nearby in Room 103B. Sponsored by the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists Inc (ASFA) it is held in conjunction with Worldcon annually. Attendees will receive a printed guide with all the nominees as a reference.

The full Art Night schedule is as follows.

  • Jane Frank, Art Book Writing, 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Lisa Hertel, Clay Workshop, 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Richard Hescox, Slide Show, 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Maurine Starkey, Working Blind, 6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Tim Szczesuil, Art Show Docent Tour, 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Vincent Villafranca, Clay Sculpting, 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • John Wardale, Hair Braiding, 6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Alan Beck, Mouse Portrait, 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • Mitchell Bentley, Slide Show, 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • Daniel Cortopassi, Combining Digital Art & Traditional Drawing, 6:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Loren Damewood, Bracelet Tying, 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • John Hertz, Art Show Docent Tour, 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Carole Parker, Shibori Dyeing Techniques, 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Judy Peterson, Puzzle Cutting & Design, 7:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • Trina Phillips, Frame & Protect Artwork, 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

We hope you attend and enjoy Art Night!

Chesley Awards

ASFA annually gives out the Chesley Awards, which were established in 1985 as ASFA's peer awards to recognize individual works and achievements not otherwise recognized by the Hugo Awards. The Chesleys were initially called the ASFA Awards, but were later renamed to honor famed astronomical artist Chesley Bonestell after his death in 1986. The awards are usually presented annually at the World Science Fiction Convention.

We have provided an additional page with more information on the Chesley Awards including a video of the 2011 Chesley Award Ceremony which took place at Renovation, the 2011 Worldcon.

Entering the Art Show

The Art Show is now full and we are no longer accepting applications for space. We have however left our Art Show Entry page available just for reference.