Hugo Awards

The full and uninterrupted presentation of the 2013 Hugo Awards Ceremony is now on line here.

Tony - Hugo Award Hugo rocket logo

The Hugo Award® is the leading award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. The Hugos are awarded each year by the World Science Fiction Society, at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon).

Voting for the Hugo Awards takes place in two stages. The first stage, nomination, is open to anyone who had a Supporting or Attending membership in the previous, current, or following year's Worldcon as of January 31. For LoneStarCon 3, this meant members of Chicon 7 (the 2012 Worldcon), LoneStarCon 3 itself, and Loncon 3 (the 2014 Worldcon). During this stage, members can nominate any eligible work or person.

The second stage of voting is the final ballot. This stage, which closed on July 31, 2013, is only open to members of the current Worldcon (i.e. LoneStarCon 3). In the final ballot, members choose among the five finalists in each category.

LoneStarCon 3 is pleased to confirm that 1,848 valid final ballots were received for this year's awards, representing a 42.1% turnout. The figure of 1,848 is the third highest ballot count in history after Renovation, the 2011 Worldcon, and Chicon 7, the 2012 Worldcon. LoneStarCon 3 previously announced an all-time record of 1,343 nominating ballots, highlighting the ever-increasing interest and support for the Hugo Awards.

Members can still retrieve and view their final ballots via the online ballot form. The ballots cannot, of course, be modified, as voting is now complete.

The official web site of the Hugo Awards is at This site includes a full history of the Hugo Awards, nominees and winners, information on the voting process, a photo gallery of past trophy designs, and much more. We have also provided a page of Frequently Asked Questions about the Hugo Awards for members who may not be familiar with them already.

LoneStarCon 3 members should remember that they will also be entitled to nominate for the 2014 Hugo and John W Campbell Awards, which will be administered by Loncon 3, the 2014 Worldcon. Nominations for the 2014 Awards will open in January 2014.

2013 Hugo Award Winners

LoneStarCon 3 is delighted to announce the 2013 Hugo Award and John W. Campbell Award Winners. 1848 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot. A PDF is available with the full statistics for the nominating and final ballots.

Best Novel: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi (Tor)

Best Novella: "The Emperor's Soul" by Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications)

Best Novelette: "The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi" by Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)

Best Short Story: "Mono no aware" by Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)

Best Related Work: Writing Excuses, Season 7 by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson

Best Graphic Story: Saga, Volume 1 written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): The Avengers Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Game of Thrones: "Blackwater" Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)

Best Editor - Short Form: Stanley Schmidt

Best Editor - Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Best Professional Artist: John Picacio

Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker

Best Fanzine: SF Signal edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester

Best Fancast: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters), and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)

Best Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Fan Artist: Galen Dara

The John W. Campbell Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2011 or 2012, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award): Mur Lafferty

The 2013 Hugo Award winners were announced on Sunday evening, September 1, at the Marriott Rivercenter Hotel in San Antonio. The ceremony was hosted by LoneStarCon 3 Toastmaster Paul Cornell and broadcast live via Ustream with additional live text coverage via CoverItLive.

2013 Hugo Award Nominees

A full list of the 2013 Hugo Award and John W. Campbell Award nominees can be found on the Hugo Award Nominees page.

Hugo Voter Packet

LoneStarCon 3 produced the 2013 Hugo Voter Packet, an electronic package of nominated works graciously made available to voters by nominees and their publishers.

The 2013 Hugo Voter Packet was made available to Supporting, Attending, Military, and Young Adult members of LoneStarCon 3 to help inform them about the works under consideration before voting. The Packet is now closed.

2013 Hugo Award Trophy and Base

The World Science Fiction Convention has given out the Hugo Awards for achievement in Science Fiction and Fantasy since the early 1950s. The Hugo Award trophy itself is always in the form of a silver rocket. The design for the base on which the rocket is mounted, however, is the responsibility of each Worldcon committee, and changes each year.

LoneStarCon 3 is delighted to announce that the 2013 Hugo Award bases will be designed and made - in cast bronze - by award-winning Texas artist Vincent Villafranca.

More information on the history of Hugo Award bases, and on this year's designer, can be found on the Hugo Award base page.

Hugo Award Categories

A full list of the current award categories with definitions is available here. In summary, however, the ongoing categories, for which Hugos are presented every year, are:

  • Best Novel (40,000 words or more)
  • Best Novella (17,500 to 40,000 words)
  • Best Novelette (7,500 to 17,500 words)
  • Best Short Story (up to 7,500 words)
  • Best Related Work
  • Best Graphic Story
  • Best Dramatic Presentation "Long Form" (more than 90 minutes)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation "Short Form" (less than 90 minutes)
  • Best Editor Short Form
  • Best Editor Long Form
  • Best Professional Artist
  • Best Semiprozine
  • Best Fanzine
  • Best Fancast
  • Best Fan Writer
  • Best Fan Artist

By tradition, the Hugo voting process also includes the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. The Campbell Award is not a Hugo Award, and the rules governing it are determined by the award sponsor, Dell Magazines. However, the award traditionally is selected through the Hugo Awards voting process and presented at the Worldcon Hugo Awards Ceremony.

Further information about the Campbell Award, including past winners and a list of currently eligible writers, can be found on the Campbell Award page at Writertopia.

Additional Information